Roche logo

The MJA is delighted that Roche is once more sponsoring the MJA Awards 2020 in the News Story of the Year – Broadcast category.  In 2019 Roche sponsored News Story of the Year – General Audience and the Award was won by Helen McArdle, Herald & Times Group Newspapers. Helen was not able to get to London for the ceremony — she was literally stopped in her tracks after a tree fell into overhead cables near Carlisle, forcing her to turn back — but she did share the celebrations with a fizzing photo on social media.

Roche sponsored the Science Explained award at the 2017 MJA Awards. The award went to Linda Geddes for The complex circumstances that defined your gender,  published on BBC Future. 

Kat Arney and Jacqui Thornton were both highly commended. Kat for The viruses that made us human for BBC Focus Magazine and Jacqui for When the miracle of childbirth turns to life and death published by London School of Hygiene and Tropical Medicine.

Ongoing support

At the 2016 MJA Awards, Roche sponsored the Best Editor category, which was won by Catherine de Lange from New Scientist, who accepted the award from Thomasine Kamerling, Head of Public Relations at Roche.

Roche Pharmaceuticals provides innovative medicines which are targeted to the needs of individuals and is helping  healthcare professionals tackle a range of diseases including cancer, rheumatoid arthritis and hepatitis.

Click here to go to the Roche website.

Media Relations can be contacted from 9am to 5.30pm on +44 (0)1707 367807. For after office hours contact call the Roche switchboard on +44 (0)1707 366000 and your call will be re-directed.

Middleton crowned in 2015

At the 2015 Summer Awards the company sponsored Best Editor — which was won by Jenni Middleton of the Nursing Times.

Judges said she had, “demonstrated an impressive record in transforming the fortunes of the publication and its brand, as well as providing lively, thought-provoking, and relevant content for the readership”.

At the 2015 Winter Awards Roche sponsored the Broadcast category, which was won by Kerri Smith from Nature  for her piece On a new type of ray.  And in  2014 the company sponsored Editor of the Year, which was won by Nigel Praities of Pulse.