Nominate an NHS hero

By July 4, 2018Public

Having recently spent a few days in an NHS hospital, I confess myself in awe of the patience and dedication of health service staff who continue to provide fantastic care despite inadequate funding.

So it’s great to see a mass-market paper like The Sun is recognising some of these unsung heroes with the second Who Cares Wins awards.

The awards were launched by the late  Sun Health Features editor, Christina Newbury (nee Earle), and will include a new award in her memory.

Christina, who died suddenly earlier this year, won Outstanding Contribution and Editor of the Year, at this year’s MJA Awards.

Categories for Who Cares Wins awards include:

Best Midwife: An NHS midwife who has provided great care for a woman or her baby.

Best Neonatal: This is for someone who has cared for problem, small or sick babies

Best Doctor: An NHS doctor — GP, hospital doctor or consultant

Best Nurse: An NHS nurse in any field

Ultimate Lifesaver: A person or a team who performed an emergency rescue, operation or similar

Groundbreaking Pioneer or Discovery: Scientists and researchers who have contributed to breakthroughs in medical science

Unsung Hero: For an individual who gives up their time to volunteer at a health charity, hospital, hospice or similar

Best Charity: A health charity

Mental Health Hero: For significant contribution to mental health work

Young Hero: A carer or campaigner, open to anyone under the age of 18

If you know of an NHS hero who goes above and beyond the call of duty, why not nominate them? Online nominations can be made here.


Jane Symons

Author Jane Symons

Jane is a freelance journalist, author and media consultant, providing a range of services including advice on media messages, writing reports and media materials, media training and crisis communications.  Her client base spans all aspects of health and medicine and includes PR agencies, charities and companies producing pharmaceutical medicines, medical devices, over-the-counter health products and food and nutrition.  Unlike many journalists who have moved over to communications consultancy, she continues to be a regular contributor to national newspapers and websites including the Express, Mail and Mirror.Jane edited the health pages of The Sun for five years and was chief sub editor of the Telegraph Magazine for three.  She had contributed to newspapers and magazines including The Times, Telegraph, Sunday Express, Woman's Own and Good Housekeeping.  She has also written a number of books including How to Have a Baby And Still Live in the Real World, which has been published in the UK, USA, Sweden and Russia.

More posts by Jane Symons

Leave a Reply